Cabbage Family – Brassicaceae

The Cabbage family, was originally given the name Cruciferae, but is now Brassicaceae. Brassica is the Latin name for Cabbage. It has 3000 species in 350 genera. The typical flower has 4 free petals in the form of a cross, hence the name Crucifera. It is the only family to have 6 stamens and 4 petals. The classification of the family into sub-families has proved problematic but the family can be split into Ornamental plants such as Wallflowers (erysimum or cheiranthus), Iberis, Aubretia, Alyssum, Lunaria (honesty) and Matthiola (known as Stocks), Wildflowers such as Cardamine (Cuckoo Flower ) and Crop plants such as Cabbage, Cauliflower, Brussel Sprouts, Broccoli, Mustard, Turnip and Oilseed Rape. The fruit is in the form of seed pods (siliqua) which are characteristic of the family as in oilseed rape and white mustard.

Wallflower ‘Bowles’s Mauve’

Ornamental plant Wallflower Bowles’s Mauve’ 

Wild flower Cuckoo Flower Cardamine pratensis

Wild flower Cuckoo Flower Cardamine pratensis 

Crop plant Oilseed Rape brassica napus

Crop plant Oilseed Rape is a cultivar of Brassica napus grown for its oil-rich seed.