Daffodil Family – Amaryllidaceae

Amaryllidaceae – Daffodil family – has1600 species in 3 sub-families –  Alloideae (Alliums), Agapanthoideae (Agapanthus) and Amaryllidoideae (Amaryllis). The family takes its name from the genus Amaryllis, which is the name of a Greek shepherdess in Virgil’s poem and  means ‘I shine’, referring to the brightness of the flower. Most grow from bulbs but Agapanthus grows from rhizomes.

Allium hollandicum flower head

Alliums are either food plants such as onion, garlic, shallot, leek, and chives or flowering alliums, known as ornamental onions, with large spherical umbel-like heads such as Allium hollandicum (shown in the photo above) or smaller egg-shaped heads such as Allium sphaerocephalon. Each head has many small flowers crowded together.

Agapanthus africanus flower head

Agapanthus has 1 genus of 6 species. The type species is A. africanus. This is a native of the Cape, South Africa, called the African Lily. It is the only genus in the sub-family Agapanthoideae.

Narcissus (Daffodil) flower

Amaryllis includes the genera Galanthus (Snowdrop), Leucojum (Snowflake), Nerine, Amaryllis (Belladonna Lily) and Narcissus (Daffodil)