Flower parts

The Flower has four parts

There are two non-reproductive parts.

1. The sepals collectively form an outer layer called the Calyx

2. The petals collectively form an inner layer called the Corolla. 

Sepals protect the flower parts as the flower bud develops. Petals attract pollinators. In some flowers (e.g the daffodil) the sepals and petals cannot be differentiated and are called tepals. The petals or tepals may be fused together into a tube known as the corolla tube. The sepals may be fused together into a calyx tube. The Daffodil has an  unusual extension of the corolla tube called a corona. 

Narcissus flower parts

There are two  reproductive parts

1. The stamens collectively form the male Androecium. Each stamen has a filament that suppports an anther.

2. The carpels collectively form the female Gynoecium. Each carpel has an ovary (containing ovules) and a style which links to a stigma. 

Fuchsia flower parts

The Fuchsia in the first photo has a total of eight stamens (anthers and filaments) and  a single style and stigma. The sepals are red and quite different from the purple petals. The ovary is above the calyx tube and is not shown in the photo above. Not all the stamens can be seen. The Daffodil, in the second photo,  has a total of 6 stamens (anthers and filaments) and 1 ovary with a single style and a 3-lobed stigma. The cross-section in the photo shows 3 of the stamens, the single style and stigma and the ovary containing the ovules that will become seeds.