The Primrose family Primulaceae  includes the genera Primula, Cyclamen and Lysimachia. The family is named after the genus Primula from the Latin ‘primus’ for ‘first’ and refers to the early flowering of many primroses. The Primula genus of over 500 species includes the wild primrose Primula vulgaris and the Cowslip Primula veris. Primula species have been hybridised to produce many garden varieties sold as Polyanthus bedding plants. Cyclamen is a genus of 23 species native to the Mediterranean region. C. hederifolium has the widest distribution and is the hardiest so is often grown outdoors in Britain. Cyclamens grow from tubers. Lysimachia is a genus of 190 species, widely distributed across Eurasia and North America.They tend to grow in damp conditions and are called Loosestrife which is also used by the Lythrum genus in the Loosestrife family. Yellow Loosestrife Lysimachia vulgaris is common in wet places in Britain.

Basic Flower Parts –  5 united Sepals, 5 united Petals , 5 Stamens,  5 united  Carpels with 1 style.  Superior ovary. Nectaries. Fruit is a capsule.

Pictures and text from the new eBook Flowers. Click on this link for more information on the eBook

primrose flowers
Primrose Primula vulgaris
cyclamen flowers
Ivy-leaved Cyclamen Cyclamen hederifolium
Whorled Loosestrife flowers
Whorled Loosestrife Lysimachia verticillaris